Pixel Robbery

A couple of weeks ago I was reading a post on David O’Neill’s blog concerning ‘missing the boat’ on the pixelad business. Still subscribed to the comments, I was amazed to read the case of one reply this morning.

“I purchased a “large ad” at an agreed rental of $5 per month. It was stated that the site, and ad’, would be maintained for at least 2 years.

My ad was recently removed and when I asked why I was informed I would have to pay $47 a month to have it put pack due to the fact that the owners had spend so much money marketing the sites.”

The site in question is Pixellance, which recently joined forces with RentPixelAds.com… Looks like a con job (no offence intended to the owner of the site – just my opinion). Take a read of the comment for yourself but its highly disappointing to see something like that in any service. As soon as the site gets any attention at all they jack up the prices? Supply and demand at work or just a ripoff?

Note : made a little edit to the original post, didn’t want to be offending anyone in general terms 🙂


  1. keith bohanna February 2, 2006 at 10:28 am

    Not such a good idea to make generalised comments about businesses based in China or anywhere else for that matter.

    Given that you and I are both living in a town where con artists are active on one of the main streets (story on this weeks KK People).


  2. Ken February 2, 2006 at 10:34 am

    Absolutely right and noted. Can’t believe that guy was taken right there in the street. Its the second time since the summer as well, remember the guy with the milk cartons in the laptop bag?

    The reading of my original post might provoke ill thoughts alright 🙂

  3. keith bohanna February 2, 2006 at 10:40 am

    I wonder could the “victims” be charged with attempting to purchase stolen goods? 🙂

  4. Ken February 2, 2006 at 10:44 am

    that depends…. how much do you think you’d get for a few argos catalogs 😉 6 months?

  5. Ken February 2, 2006 at 12:44 pm

    thanks for the link alan 🙂

  6. Ricky February 9, 2006 at 9:09 am

    Sorry to hear anyone got scammed by a pixel site but it is bound to happen when there are a TON up at teh moment. We started back in Oct. and still sales have been slow while traffic is decent. But without a doubt will be up and DO spend money on advertising and marketing and did an interview already and soon will have an article out with a LARGE paper. Ask questions through email and hell ask the pixel site for a contact number to really find out if they spend time with it or want to make a buck and leave.

  7. Ken February 9, 2006 at 9:14 am

    True, there’s bound to be a few chancers around alright. The 700 pixels that you’ve shifted, thats been it since October? Tough enough market to crack now with pixel sites starting to pop up everywhere thanks to the scripts that are available. Any insight as to who the paper might be so we can watch out for it?

  8. Ricky February 9, 2006 at 9:28 pm

    The Arizona Republic here in AZ. It’s the largest paper here with several million subscribers. And yeah those are the only pixels we have sold so far. It is not fast paced sell, sell, sell right now especially with the ton of other sites around. But I know eventually the sites around that are scammin and not spending any of their own money will start going away. And over time we will sell here and there as others see it’s still around. And that is ok to me.

  9. Ken February 10, 2006 at 4:57 pm

    well, its the determination that will get you there in the end, hope it becomes a success for you

  10. Ricky February 11, 2006 at 7:52 am

    Thankyou very much Ken!

  11. Ken February 11, 2006 at 10:41 am

    Ricky, no problem!

  12. Mel February 14, 2006 at 11:44 pm

    Sad to say but they are at it again. Having hiked their advertisers to pay $47 a box, now they are covering them up with adsense-ready scrapers. (see http://www.pixellance.com then click “great articles” in the toolbar)

    These advertisers are paying to be SEEN not to be covered up by yet another scam from the makers of this pixel site. Apparently (and I dont know how to verify this) his traffic is collapsing – so hopefully will his advertisers soon.

  13. Ken February 15, 2006 at 9:02 am

    You’re right! Just looking at it this morning, seems a bit of a joke to be honest. I could believe their traffic dipping with all that going on!

  14. Ricky February 16, 2006 at 9:35 pm

    Damn that thing blocks half the screen when it drops down!

  15. Ken February 17, 2006 at 9:28 am

    Yeah… great for the people who are top in the advertising blog…. errr…

  16. Pingback: Buy valium online without a prescription.

  17. Pingback: Buy oxycontin online.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.